小學課程

在加德生學校,我們的小學課程提供蒙式教育為中心的教學方法。蒙式教學方法是在安全和具有挑戰性的學習環境下,激發兒童的好奇心,使他們能夠平衡發展社交技能、優良品格和獨立思考的本領。

加德生學校的小學課程嚴格遵守安大略省教育廳的課程,結合蒙特梭利教育法和私立學校的各項標準。蒙特梭利教育方法及其理念有助於學術成功,符合併超越安省教育廳的標準。除了具有挑戰性的課程外,我們還有教師提供豐富的核心課程。同時,法語、音樂、電腦和體育課也有專業的教師授課。

符合於蒙特梭利教育的方針,我們的中小學課程包含各種創新精心開發的具體實踐,其中闡明了抽象原則—— 學生從事實和概念的理解到抽象推理,鍛煉他們批判性的思維能力和解決問題的技巧。

另外,我們的<st​​rong>“Focus For Success®”《加倍成功》課程也被納入平時課程的最後一課。這個獨特的課程為學生提供了寶貴的機會,它通過個性化的支持和課外活動來探索新的知識和增強已學到的技能。從而,給學生的全面發展增添了另一個維度。若想進一步了解,請點擊這裡查看我們的<st​​rong>“Focus For Success®”《加倍成功》課程.

 

 

我們的小學課程的亮點

主題和項目:

小學課程涵蓋了很多學科領域,其中包括:

  • 電腦科技
  • 創意寫作
  • 社會學
  • 藝術(戲劇,舞蹈,音樂與視覺藝術)
  • 科學
  • 體育
  • 法語
  • 閱讀
  • 音樂
  • 數學
  • 健康
  • 學習技巧
  • 為了進一步提高學生的學習興趣,加德生學校使用實踐的學習方法,例如動手學習、小組討論模式、上台演講和以學生主導的課程。
  • 除了在所有學科進行課堂學習之外,學生們還可以參加一些實地考察和短途旅行。課外的教學能帶給學生們更真實、實踐的學習體驗。同樣,我們常常邀請社區內的專業人士來訪我校舉行研討會,讓學生們增強對社會各界的了解。
  • 典型的一天從D.P.A(每日身體活動)開始,若天氣允許的話,每天早上都會​​有10分鐘的戶外鍛煉,目的是讓學生們喚醒肌肉的記憶和協調。戶外鍛煉後,學生會按照正常課程表上課,下午3點15分上《加倍成功》FFS的課直至4點放學(星期一除外)。
低師生比例:
  • 加德生學校的小學部,教師與學生的比例低於1:15。這樣可以確保學生從教師那裡得到更多的關注和指導,以便學生在學術上取得成功。低師生的比例能讓學生有更多機會跟老師交流、互動,使老師更清楚每個學生的進度和需要。此外,低師生比例也避免了學生“跟不上”進度,因為我們努力讓所有學生都利用課堂互動的方法去互相學習和幫助有需要的學生。
  • 教師與學生之間的比例低也能讓我們提供更加個性化的學習。課堂內的靈活性不僅能夠為有需要的學生提供額外的輔導,還能在必要時加快教學進度。學生們可以通過個性化的教學模式來發揮自己的潛質和特長,相比大多數傳統的公立學校,幾乎沒有這樣的機會。

Elementary Program

At J. Addison School, our Elementary program offers our students a Montessori based learning classroom combined with the highly enriched academic curriculum of a Private School. This combination provides a challenging academic environment, with a balanced approach towards the education of children. Our advanced curriculum is coupled with the development of social skills, character traits and personalized attention, while providing a secure and safe learning environment.

The Elementary Program follows the Ontario Ministry of Education Curriculum, in conjunction with the Montessori Method of Education and Private School Standards. The Montessori Method of Education and its philosophy facilitates academic success that meets and surpasses the provincial standards. Along with a challenging curriculum, we have teachers who provide enrichment in the core subjects. Meanwhile, French, Music, Computers and Physical Education are taught by specialist teachers.

Consistent with the Montessori approach to education, our elementary and middle school programs incorporate a wide variety of creative and carefully developed concrete hands-on materials, which clarify abstract principles. Students progress from an understanding of facts and concepts to the development of abstract reasoning, critical thinking skills, and advanced problem solving skills.

Furthermore, our “Focus For Success®” adaptive program, or simply referred to as FFS, is also implemented into the general curriculum. This unique program provide extra valuable opportunities for our students to explore new talents and strengthen already learned skills through personalized support and extra-curricular activities; thus, adds another dimension to our students’ overall development. The FFS program takes place as the last class in our regular school schedule. For a more in depth look, please check out our “Focus For Success®” program here.

 

Highlights of Our Elementary Curriculum 

Subjects & Programming:
  • The elementary curriculum covers a plethora of subject areas, including:
    • Technology
    • Creative Writing
    • Social Studies
    • The Arts (Drama, Dance, Music and Visual Arts)
    • Science
    • Physical Education
    • French
    • Reading
    • Music
    • Mathematics
    • Health
    • Learning Skills
  • To further student interest and learning, we pride ourselves in the manners in which we can facilitate learning. Through the use of a hands-on learning approach, many of our classes are supported through the use of manipulatives and student-led conferences.
  • In addition to classroom learning across all subject areas, students have the opportunity to participate in field trips and excursions to highlight and extend learning beyond the classroom. As well, we value the expertise of professionals in our community who we believe will add to our students’ overall learning through guest workshops and presentations.
  • The typical day begins with D.P.A. (Daily Physical Activity), which is a daily, 10-minute program designed to get students ready and alert for learning through physical movements to awaken muscle memory and coordination. Students then proceed to two morning classes, followed by an outdoor recess break (weather permitting). One more class proceeds before a 45-minute lunch in the school cafeteria with well-balanced hot lunch programs. Three classes follow before “Focus For Success®” program (FFS) which begins at 3:15pm. Students are dismissed at 4:00 pm daily (except Mondays).
Low Teacher to Student Ratio:
  • J. Addison’s Elementary Program features a low teacher to student ratio of 1:15. This ensures students are receiving the highest level of attention and direction from teachers in order to be successful in their academic endeavours. Students have the opportunity to ask questions and teachers seek opportunities to provoke further learning from students. This low teacher to student ratio also ensures that there are no “back-row” learners. We strive to have all students continually engaged in class through rigorous and interactive learning, and support students who need help.
  • A low teacher to student ratio also allows for more individualized learning where we have the flexibility to not only able to provide extra support to students who are having difficulty with concepts, but also allow acceleration in the teachings of the Ontario curriculum when necessary. Students can be engaged through enhanced inquiry- and application-based learning, where most traditional school systems do not have the opportunities to do so.